HRA Board


The Rice County Housing & Redevelopment Authority’s purpose:

  • Provide a sufficient supply of adequate, safe and sanitary dwellings in order to protect the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Rice County;
  • To clear and redevelop blighted areas;
  • To perform those duties according to comprehensive plans;
  • To remedy the shortage of housing for low and moderate income residents; and
  • To redevelop blighted areas, in situations in which private enterprise would not act without government participation or subsidies.

The HRA is governed by a 5-member Board, providing area-wide representation of the county. In addition, the Board includes a resident commissioner as a sixth member of the commission who may participate in decisions related to the administration, operation and management of the Federal public housing programs and Section 8 tenant-based rental assistance.


The 2016 HRA Board members:

Jeff Docken, Chairperson
Jake Gillen, Vice Chairperson
Steve Bauer
Galen Malecha
Dave Miller
Cheryl Tjosaas, Resident Commissioner


The HRA offices are located at:

Rice County Government Services Building
320 Third Street N.W.
Faribault, MN  55021


Additional Information