Recorder - How Do I...

Question Answer
Can I order a birth or death certificate online? No, you need to download the application, have your signature notarized, and mail it in with the appropriate fees.
How much does it cost to file my notary commission and register my signature? The fee is $20.00.
Do I have to file my notary commission in person? Yes, you must register your signature.
Is this land torrens or abstract? All parcels of land in Rice County are abstract except for the parcels on the Torrens Property list.
Are well certificates required on all deeds? In a transferring document, where the consideration is more than $500, a Well Disclosure Statement is required. The transfer document must contain a statement such as : "The seller certifies that...
How do I get a marriage license? A marriage license must be applied for in person at the Rice County Recorder's Office. Review the SAMPLE marriage application on our website before you come to apply, so you have all of the required...
How do I get a copy of my birth certificate? Appear in person at the Rice County Recorder's Office with a valid picture ID and payment.For a certified copy by mail, read the instructions at the link below and complete the Tangible Interest Form...
Can I get a reduced marriage license fee? You can save $75 on your marriage license if you bring in a "Reduced Marriage Fee Educators Statement" when you apply for your license. The statement needs to be signed by a licensed or ordained...
Does the Recorder's Office provide notary services? The Rice County Recorder's Office does not provide notary service. You can check with your personal banker or attorney. Any person wishing to have a document notarized must provide appropriate...
How long does it take to get a passport? Customers will receive their passport within 6 weeks from the day of application. Those applicants who wish to receive passports sooner than the 6 week commitment, may request expedited service and...
Where can I obtain my birth certificate? If you were born in Minnesota in 1935 or thereafter, you can obtain your birth certificate in any county office that issues birth certificates in the State of Minnesota.
When can I search a property? The records in the Rice County Recorder's Office can be viewed Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m.- 4:30p.m. If you have a document number and need a copy mailed or faxed, the Rice County Recorder's...
How old must I be to get married? You must be 18, unless you have parent permission.
Where do I go, and what do I need for a passport? You need to have a valid picture ID, certified copy of your birth certificate and 2 identical passport photos.For complete details, use the link below.
Will the Recorder's Office help me fill out my forms? No. Forms need to be filled out by the applicant. No one in the Recorder's Office has a license to practice law, so you will need to contact your own attorney for legal advise and for help with...
How much does a birth certificate cost? The fee is $26.00 for the first one, and $19.00 for each additional certificate ordered at the same time for the same person.
How much does a death certificate cost? The fee is $13.00 for the first one, and $6.00 for each additional certificate ordered at the same time for the same person.
How much does a passport cost? Age: 16 and older - $135.00 Age: 15 and under - $105.00
How do I get a passport? You will need to bring in proper identification, such as your driver's license, a certified copy of your birth certificate, and two separate payments (one of them needs to be a check or money order...
How do I get a copy of a marriage certificate? You need to go to the county that you applied for your marriage license. If you applied in Rice County, you will need to provide both applicants names, as well as the date of marriage.For more...
What is LandShark, and how do I sign-up for access to it? LandShark is a web-based tool for research and retrieval of land record documents.To sign-up, please click on the following link: