State Deed Tax

Minnesota Statute 287.21 provides for deed tax to be paid on deeds to be recorded. The rate is .0033 of the purchase price. (Example: $105,250 X .0033 = $347.33 deed tax). The minimum deed tax amount is $1.65.
If one of the following statements appears on the deed, a Certificate of Real Estate Value (CRV) is not required to be filed with the deed:
"Total consideration is $1,000 or less"
For documents which are exempt from deed tax see Minnesota Statute 287.22.

Deed tax is paid to the Rice County Auditor/Treasurer with 3% retained by the County and 97% submitted monthly to the State of Minnesota.

For further information about recording real estate documents, please visit the Rice County Recorder's website.