Applications for permits to carry a handgun must be submitted to the Sheriff of the county where the applicant resides and can be attained at the Sheriff's Office or online from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
Do not sign or date the application form. That must be done in front of the records clerk accepting the application. All applications must be made in person. You will need a photo ID (drivers license or passport). All applicants must be at least 21 years of age and must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by any state or federal regulation. You will be required to take an approved training course that includes both the legal aspects of carrying a firearm as well as a "hands-on" qualification portion. All applicants must provide a certificate showing completion of a qualified firearms training course prior to application. Training must be completed within 1 year of the application date. Any questions regarding training standards can be obtained through the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.
Permits are good for 5 years and there is a $100 application fee. Visit Minnesota State Statutes to view the statute.
Renewal fee is $75. The permit can be renewed within 90 days of the date of expiration. If it's expired, a $10 late fee is required as long as you are within 30 days of the date of expiration. Once you've reached the 30 days, the application is no longer renewable. It will then be considered new, and the fee will be $100.
Please be advised cash is the only form of payment accepted.